“I’m not asking you for anything. When I say I love you, it’s not because I want you, or because I can’t have you – it has nothing to do with me. I love what you are, what you do, how you try… I’ve seen your kindness, and your strength, I’ve seen the best and the worst of you and I understand with perfect clarity exactly what you are.” — James Marsters as Spike

Why? Because JOSS EFFING WHEDON, that’s why!

Also, today’s assignment was to add some tags, and follow some blogs, and in order to post something I went back to yesterday’s daily prompt. (Not something that I am currently doing, but if there is chance to I will. Or I will try. That’s more like it.)

So that brings me to this post.  The prompt – We’ve all heard the saying: beauty is in the eye of the beholder. Do you agree?

The answer: see above title.

That’s not a very clear answer is it? I’ll try to explain.

I think there are certain things that transcend culture and that we all find beautiful. Like the Aurora Borealis. I think we can all agree that that is pretty effing amazing. Or, an example a little closer to me, Fuji. I mean come on, it IS a national treasure. Fun fact: the famous woodblock print of Fuji that you are probably thinking of right now, it one of the three most famous woodblock prints from Japan. Or ever? I don’t remember, but I know you know what I’m talking about. The clouds, the snow covering the last quarter of the mountain top. Google Fuji, you’ll find it.

But then there are things, like people, or art, or language, that are more personal. Not everyone finds the same things beautiful. I mean language! the fact that EVERY language has an order for color, the same order! Mind blowing. Fascinating. Or the science behind all of it. Not the “romance languages sound so beautiful” kind of thing. Not that. But that speaking Mandarin Chinese fluently makes you better at music; or vice versa. That’s…beyond words.

I find language beautiful. Snow. My grandmother’s handwriting. I’m sure not everyone will agree with me.

So back to the title quote. Not exactly about beauty. But the fact that there is this association whether right or wrong that exists between love and beauty, means that when I think of this quote, it sticks out in my mind as a beautiful thing.

And, I mean, Joss Whedon. His work is beautiful – one word: Firefly.

Okay, so that’s about all I have to say on that topic. But I did accidentally delete some of this. I tries to retype it…but if it doesn’t make sense, or I jump from one thought to another, let me know. Or just let me know what you think.

Also: Lexicon Valley #31: Name that tone goes into the Mandarin Chinese/music thing. It’s a podcast, if you want more info.